Noah and the Whale Previews New Single on Zane Lowe: “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N”

Noah and the Whale is one of those bands about which people always seem to disagree. Even I wasn’t a fan at first–it took a while for Peaceful, the World Lays Me Down to charm me (although it definitely won me over in the end). Second album The First Days of Spring, the beautiful result of Charlie Fink’s break-up with Laura Marling, has also garnered very extreme reviews: some regard it as one of the best break-up albums ever recorded, others as decidedly less so (Pitchfork: “the uniform dishwater feel of the music fits the Xanax-ed sentiments of the lyrics”). To complicate matters further, both albums just sound so different–one is upbeat and borderline-twee, the other brooding and sparse. Critics and fans agree, however, on the band’s remarkable growth between the two works, and anticipation is starting to build for the release of album number three.

Third album Last Night on Earth is set to be released March 7 of this coming year. Will it continue in the depressingly cathartic vein of The First Days of Spring, or regain some of the band’s earlier bounce? If single “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.” is any indication, I would say the band is moving somewhere else entirely (and its influences seem closer to my side of the pond). Premiering today on Zane Lowe, “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N” leaves me even more curious about what their third album will bring. Although I’m not blown away by this first showing, I’ve learned not to make snap judgments about a band that experiments with so many styles (“Love of an Orchestra”, anyone?). Whatever I or anyone else thinks about this single, it proves that Noah and the Whale has defied categorization once again.

2 thoughts on “Noah and the Whale Previews New Single on Zane Lowe: “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N”

  1. Bruno

    Where is the ‘Like it’ or ‘Tweet it’ or anything else? 😛
    Really, when I started to read the post, I was hating you – particularly when you said PTWLMD didn’t catch your attention much at first. I mean, of course this is all about personal order, when we come to think that it is indeed my very favorite album. However, I really appreciated when you said ‘the beautiful result of Charlie Fink’s break-up with Laura Marling’, it is simple but it’s quite appropriated to the idea of the album, in my opinion. Also, at the end of the post, when you talk about not judging the album for it’s first single including when we’re talking about Noah and the Whale, I agree with you, it’s totally their stile to experiment and try other kinds of sound. Although PTWLMD is basically folk – which is most my stile – I think they’ve done pretty well with FDOS in this testing thing. It brought variety to their songs, even if we can perfectly tell the theme is about breaking-up – and particularly with beautiful Laura Marling. Anyhow, I wasn’t quite optimistic about their new album, because I severely hated “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N”, mainly because it’s like they are aggressively saying ‘We are completely deconstructing all we’ve said before’. I don’t know, that’s what comes to my mind with the new single, and that was what made me feel pessimistic about Last Night on Earth. I mean, I loved to other two albums, I felt attacked myself 😛
    But now that I’ve read your post, I some kind of changed my mind. You are one hundred per cent right in saying that we mustn’t forget that they are basically band always experimenting, and they’re running away from categorization. That was pretty nice of yours, Katie. Haha
    Thanks! (:
    Love,
    me.

    Reply
    1. kredcarroll Post author

      Haha don’t hate me! I really love Noah and the Whale, and I love PTWLMD, but it wasn’t one of those albums that just clicked on the first listen. I’m also worried about whether Last Night on Earth is going to drastically veer from their fairly folk style… I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. I certainly hope it’s not all like “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.”, but even that has grown on me since I first heard it. And I could never really hate anything they do, because I just love them so much. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

