Aboot Time for a Vacation

Most people go to places like Maui or Italy during the summer. They lounge by the pool, work on their tans, and drink pink things with umbrellas in them. But I’m not ‘most people’–for one, I have no tan to speak of and no amount of sun exposure will change that. Two, they probably book their summer trips more than a week in advance.

I’m still stoked for my last-minute, much-needed vacay, which sends me to the Olympic winter wonderland of Whistler. While there will obviously be no skiing, there will be plenty to do in the beautiful, mountainous outdoors. Now I just need to sync up my iPod and mentally prepare for the harrowing flight up north (flying from SFO to Seattle is not particularly treacherous, but for me all flights require a heavy dose of anti-anxiety meds).

Why am I mentioning all this? Two reasons. One, I’ll be largely off the grid, so don’t expect posts or my usual quick responses to things (although I may shoot out a post or two if I find decent wifi). Two, I’m honoring the trip with my a new Spotify playlist. I’m calling it, appropriately, “Whistler While You (Don’t) Work”. It features both Canadian artists and songs involving whistling. And no, Justin Bieber is not on it.

Whistler While You Work

Leave a Reply

