EXCITING NEWS: Communion Readies US Launch

I was a bit ornery when a text message woke me up early this morning, but it turned out to be a blessing in sleep-addled disguise. Without that premature wake up call, I wouldn’t have seen the tweet about Communion Music coming to the US.

I’ve made my love for Communion pretty clear on this blog, and I have the incredible fortune to count Kev Jones as one of the speakers on my SXSW Panel Proposal (thank you for voting–fingers crossed!). If I could design my dream job, the label/club night would be it. They represent everything I love about English new-folk: the culture of support and collaboration, emphasis on creativity and individuality, and just effing great music. I’ve yet to meet a Communion artist I don’t like, and I fully expect that to continue when they hit my side of the pond.

To celebrate their launch, Communion has set up a North American tour AND a three-day party in Big Sur called “Communion in the Redwoods”. (Having grown up just outside of Big Sur, the thought of three days of folk music down there does sound like a religious experience.) On the tour, Matthew and the Atlas will be joined by the David Mayfield Parade and Lauren Shera (who also grew up just outside of Big Sur). Dates are below. If you want to join me for an awesome party in the redwoods, let me know–we can carpool.

October
18 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Hotel Cafe
20 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Swedish American Hall
21-23 – Big Sur, Calif. @ Communion In The Redwoods
25 – Seattle, Wash. @The Tractor Tavern
26 – Portland, Ore. @ Mississippi Studios
28 – Denver, Colo. @ Soiled Dove
29 – Ames, Iowa @ Maintenance Shop at Iowa State University
30 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ 7th Street Entry
31 – Evanston, Ill. @ Space

November
1 – Rock Island, Ill. @ Rozz Tox
3 – St. Louis, Mo. @ Blueberry Hill
4 – Nashville, Tenn. @ 3rd & Lindsley
5 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Smith’s Olde Bar
6 – Raleigh, N.C. @ Lincoln Theater
8 – Vienna, Va. @ Jammin’ Java
9 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ World Café Live
10 – New York @ Mercury Lounge
11 – Burlington, Vt. @ Higher Ground Showcase Lounge
12 – Boston, Mass. @ Cafe 939 at Berklee College of Music

P.S. As if you weren’t in a good mood already: Peggy Sue’s Acrobats is now streaming exclusively on The Line of Best Fit. Check it out before the September 12th release.

Leave a Reply

