Communion News: Big Sur Event Is Now FREE, Live Webcast Tonight

I went to the Communion tour stop in San Francisco last night, and I was absolutely blown away. Matthew and the Atlas has been on my ‘must see’ list for years–they were the only member of my top five favorites list that I hadn’t seen live (and that includes Joni Mitchell!). There will be more to come on the show later, but let’s just say it surpassed even my insanely high expectations. And I met a wonderful reader! Thank you Karen for introducing yourself and being such a sweetheart. (AND pushing me to get that Laura Marling review done one of these days. I will, I promise!)

More importantly for you all are two pieces of pretty fabulous information. Firstly, there will be a live webcast tonight, featuring the three tour acts–Matthew and the Atlas, the immensely entertaining David Mayfield Parade, and the lovely Lauren Shera–as well as a special guest. Given that Ben Lovett and Winston Marshall were both in attendance last night, some Mumford action could definitely go down. The performance is taking place at Tamalpais Research Institute studios, which is actually just down the road from me. (Consider this my not-so-subtle push for an invite.) I’ll be camped out at my computer at 7pm Pacific Time to catch the show. Check out more information here.

The second piece of information is nothing short of fantastic. The Communion In the Redwoods event is now the glorious price of FREE. Jackie Greene had to bow out because of a family emergency, so the folks at Communion decided to issue full refunds for the weekend festivities. It’s things like this that make me love these guys and everything they stand for:

“In-keeping with Communion’s desire to create an unforgettable gathering in Big Sur this weekend, we are hereby announcing that Communion in The Redwoods shall now become a free show for all.

This decision has been born from respect and our collective desire to do the right thing. There is no doubt that for those present at Fernwood on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, this will remain an incredibly special weekend of music and community.

More details of the event can be found at http://www.folkyeah.com and http://www.fernwoodbigsur.com

Full Refunds will be issued immediately.” (read more on their Facebook page.)

If I could make it down to Big Sur (which is incidentally right near where Ms. Lauren Shera and I grew up), I would be there in a heartbeat. The schedule for the three days is below, and it’s damn close to perfection:

Friday – Doors @ 6:00 pm
FERNWOOD TAVERN (indoors)
Zack Salaz
Everest
John Vanderslice
The Secret Sisters

Saturday – Doors @ 4:00 PM
FERNWOOD TAVERN (indoors)
Martin Shears
The Aglets
Nathaniel Rateliff
Infantree
Themes
Forrest Day

Sunday – Gates at Noon
FERNWOOD CAMPGROUNDS (outdoors)
The Good Sams
Songs Hatbox Harry Taught Us
Lauren Shera
The David Mayfield Parade
Matthew and the Atlas
Communion Collaborative Finale Set

Leave a Reply

