Earworms of 2011


My biggest song addiction in 2011: “Better Off Without You” by Summer Camp.

I hate ‘best of’ lists. Best songs, albums, concerts, whatever–it makes me anxious. Who am I to decide what the absolute top album was in 2011? I don’t have the chutzpah for declarations like that.

Instead, I’ve decided to compile a list of the songs that would not get out of my head in 2011. This is based on my own memories, so some of these songs might not make sense in another context (why is Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros on there, for example? Easy: Railroad Revival Tour). I tried to keep out a) the really embarrassing ones and b) the absolute dreck–yes, I’ve gotten Rebecca Black’s “Friday” stuck in my head more often than I care to mention, but that wasn’t exactly by choice. Are these my favorite songs of the year? Some of them. But mostly they’re just catchy, head-bobbing, and/or addictive.

I’ve made this a collaborative playlist, and I would love to see what you’ve been grooving to in 2011. Without further ado: Earworms of 2011.

Featuring:

Adele (don’t deny it, you’ve hummed “Rolling in the Deep” too), The Agitator, Alessi’s Ark, The Antlers, Architecture In Helsinki, A B & the Sea, Battles, Beirut, Benjamin Francis Leftwich, The Black Keys, Bombay Bicycle Club, The City and Horses, Cut Copy, Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr., Daughter, Dawes, The Decemberists, The Dodos, Dominant Legs, Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros, Elbow, Emmy the Great, Eugene McGuinness, First Aid Kit, Fitz & the Tantrums, Fleet Foxes, Florence and the Machine, Foster the People (see ‘Adele’), Girls, Goldheart Assembly, He’s My Brother She’s My Sister, The Head and the Heart, Hey Sholay, Imaginary Cities, James Vincent McMorrow, Korallreven, Kurt Vile, Laura Hocking, Laura Marling, Laura Stevenson & the Cans, LCD Soundsystem, The Leisure Society, The Lowly Knights, Luke Temple, Lykke Li, Marcus Foster, The Mariner’s Children, Metronomy, Michael Kiwanuka, The Middle East, Noah and the Whale, Nurses, Okkervil River, Old Crow Medicine Show, Other Lives, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Papa, Parenthetical Girls, Peggy Sue, Pepper Rabbit, The Radio Dept., Rubblebucket, Sarah Jaffe, Sea of Bees, Slow Club, St. Vincent, Summer Camp, The Tallest Man on Earth, Three Blind Wolves, Timber Timbre, To Kill a King, Tom Vek, Treefight for Sunlight, Treetop Flyers, Tune-Yards, The Vaccines, Vincent Minor, Voxhaul Broadcast, Warpaint, Woods, Wye Oak, Yacht

2 thoughts on “Earworms of 2011

Leave a Reply

